Below is a list of all known Louisiana Herbaria. Please note, some collections have recently transferred to new locations.
Code Institution Specimens Specialty Updates Contact
LAF University of Louisiana at Lafayette 107,000 Vascular plants of LA; pteridophytes of SE US. Erin Sigel, Director erinsigel@louisiana.edu
LSU Louisiana State University at Baton Rouge 400,000 Vascular plants, bryophytes and lichens of SE US; crustose lichens world-wide; Asteraceae, Fabaceae, Poaceae worldwide. Incorporated NO, MCN, Eglin Air Force Base Herbarium and portions of LSUS, and TTRS in 2012-18. Laura Lagomarsino, Director; llagomarsino1@lsu.edu
LSUA Louisiana State University at Alexandria 17,000 Vascular plants of Central LA. Nathan Sammons, Curator nsammons@lsua.edu
LSUM Louisiana State University Mycological Herbarium 18,000 Higher fungi of tropical American & US. Laura Lagomarsino, Director; llagomarsino1@lsu.edu
LSUS Louisiana State University of Shreveport 11,000 NW LA; North American Asclepiadaceae. 4k moved to LSU in 2016. Michael MacRoberts, Curator Emeritus; mmacrobe@lsus.edu
LTU Louisiana Tech University 82,000 Worldwide, especially LA, TX, MS, and AR. Milan Vavrek, Curator; https://www.latech.edu
MC Jungle Gardens, Avery Island 300 Avery Island's native and cultivated species. Not available in SERNEC. Garrie Landry, Botanist; Garrie.Landry@TABASCO.com
MCN McNeese State University 5,000 LA, especially SW; SE TX; vascular plants. Closed. 1.2k transferred to LSU. Laura Lagomarsino, Director; llagomarsino1@lsu.edu
NATC Northwestern State University 20,000 Mostly SE US, particularly LA. Not available in SERNEC. S. Gabrey, Curator; swgabrey@hotmail.com
NLU University of Louisiana at Monroe 460,000 Worldwide, esp. LA, Gulf South, and Sevier Co., TN; Ophioglossaceae; Kisatchie National Forest. 400k transferred to BRIT; 60k repatriated to LSU. Peter Fritsch, Director; pfritsch@brit.org
NO Tulane University 120,000 Worldwide, LA, SE US, Colorado Rocky Mtns., S CA, Yucatan; pteridophytes of Colombia & Brazil. Entire 120k moved to LSU. Laura Lagomarsino, Director; llagomarsino1@lsu.edu
NOLS University of New Orleans 9,500 Central Am. Begoniaceae & Bromeliaceae; S LA. Closed. Transferred to USF in 2009. Arian Farid, Curator; arian@mail.usf.edu
SFRP Southern Research Station USFS 6,000 Vascular plants, especially Asteraceae, Cyperaceae, and Poaceae of LA and SE US. David Moore, Curator; davemoore@fs.fed.us
SELU Southeastern Louisiana University 16,000 SE LA vascular plants. Chris Beachy, Department Chair; christopher.beachy@selu.edu
THIB Nicholls State University 25,000 LA; New World Leguminosae, especially Caesalpiniaceae, and Poaceae; seeds, mostly US. Alex Lasseigne, Curator Emeritus; alex.lasseigne@nicholls.edu
USLH ULL Ornamental Horticulture Herbarium 8,000 Native and cultivated species of LA. William Welsh, Curator; welsh@louisiana.edu
-- Ft. Polk US Army Base 4,500 Southwestern LA. Not available in SERNEC. Charles Allen, Curator Emeritus; native@camtel.net